Clumping prior year, detail current (1 Viewer)

DalGal

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:33
I'm fairly new to Access in the fact it's completely self-taught, and I'm not familiar with coding it. I'm needing a report to show the total of prior year transactions, then list individually current year transactions. I created a query to sum prior year, but then how do I add current year. Can I create 2 queries and merge them? It will be an ongoing year after year report, and we need to be able to pull up any year (showing prior as a sum, then current as detailed).

My fields are: Effective date, purchased units, purchase price, vendor

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:33
When you need multiple levels of summation, the easiest solution is to use a union query.

In the union's first select, use a query that summarizes the prior year data. Make sure to create a dummy sequence number (or date) that will cause this record to sort first in the report. In the second query, select the detail records for the current year. Use the report's sorting and grouping options to break on year so you start with prior year and then move into the current year data.

DalGal

Registered User.
Local time
I just uploaded an Excel of the information I need. Prior year as 1 total by vendor. Current year detailed by exact date, then a grand total (which will be easy once I have the other 2). It doesn't have to be this format, just have the same info.

DalGal

Registered User.
Local time
I've never used the union query. I'll give it a try! Thanks!

DalGal

Registered User.
Local time
See if this works

Attachments

• test1.xlsx
    10.2 KB · Views: 71

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
That's not going to be easily achievable in an Access Report. Access Reports are better structured vertically than horizontally. I suggest having your vendor data appear vertically and having just Shares, & and Contrib being the columns.