Access or Excel for my project. Please give a newbie advice (1 Viewer)

JanB

Local time
Today, 07:25
Hello all,

I have recently started learning Access. So I am a newbie and have a question which program might be best for my project, as I am an experienced and above average user of Excel, including programming and Power Query.

Right now I have my project in Excel and it works (lots of VBA). But my gut feeling says Access is much more suitable.

I am not asking for the solution (although tips and tricks are very welcome) but for your feedback whether Access can handle it because of some complicated calculations.

I will briefly explain the purpose.

1) Lots of data from customers

2) Customers have property insurance and may have more than one house/apartment etc. (some have more than 100)

3) All those apartments need to be insured.

4) Depending on the type of insurance, clients have to pay a premium. This may vary from client to client. And some calculations are involved.

5) Clients need a certificate of all the property insured.

6) At the beginning of the year, all clients receive an invoice (an estimate of the premium for that year).

7) During the year there are many changes. Houses are sold and bought. The type of insurance may change. Customers come and go. So also plenty of proportional calculations (based on start and end dates).

8) At the end of the year, customers receive a new bill based on the actual premium. So they get some money back or have to pay an extra amount. (In Excel, I keep the values of bullet 6 on a separate sheet and subtract the values of bullet 8 from this to get the correct amount at the end of the year).

9) Invoices are automatically mailed to the customer.

10) A worksheet is created for accounting during invoicing so that it can be read into the accounting program by import.

11) It must be user friendly :) :)

Kind regards,
Jan

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 06:25