Solved Add a new record to a filtered form, and have the linked field populated (1 Viewer)

acm-gps

Local time
Today, 01:35
I'm a university case manager and newbie Access user. I created a database where a main form presents student data, and a subform (CaseNotesF) is where I enter case notes. The notes I enter in this subform automatically populates the linked student id number field (UID) in the CaseNotes table.

Yesterday, I moved the database to our work's network drive so additional case managers can use this database. Since the database was running slowly, I decided to remove the CaseNotesF subform and instead insert a command button on the main form to open the case notes form separately. Initially it open ALL records for the case notes form, so I entered the following VBA code to make sure the case notes that were visible were filtered for the student I am looking at in the main form:

Code:
Private Sub CaseNts_Click()
    If Not IsNull(Me.UID) Then
        DoCmd.OpenForm "CaseNotesF", , , "UID=" & UID
    Else
    MsgBox (" Doh! You cannot add notes to a blank record. Please enter student info first. ")
    End If

End Sub

THE PROBLEM I'M FACING:
I'm having issues with adding NEW records to case notes now that Case Notes is a separate form and not a subform. When I begin a new case notes record, the field that shows the UID goes blank. Consequently, the data I enter is saved, but if I were to open the case notes form again, it doesn't show up because the UID was not saved with the case notes. I don't know how to make the UID (which is the variable from the main student form that filters the case notes form) save with the case notes form. As a result, the new case notes I've entered since making this change are "orphaned"---I've had to manually copy/paste student id numbers into these orphaned records as a workaround for today to run some reports, which I know is silly.