An action query that locks processed records (1 Viewer)

bevc

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:24
Hi all, is it possible to create an action query that locks records? I have a subform that users will need to update, but I don't want them to be able to edit 'already processed' information.

Ideally what I'd like to do, is have a control button that brings up a dialogue box requesting what (invoice) number you wish to lock, then having it lock all records with that invoice number in the table behind the subform, so that they can still be viewed on the form, but can't be edited. I thought an action query might be the easiest way to do this.

I'm an Access newb and have very little clue about VBA or anything like that, if anyone could help that would be much appreciated.

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 10:24
The simplest route would probably be to have a flag on the invoice sub table indicating it's current state.
You would set the flag at various stages of the Invoice process, so use a number field to represent what state the invoice / sub record is at
1 = can be edited
2 = currently being edited - stops 2 people doing the same process
3 = Locked - can't be adjusted any more - viewing only.

bevc

Registered User.
Local time
Thanks very much for the response, that’s a brilliant idea! Is there a way of automating that for many records in the sub-table, without using VBA (or even using VBA)? The ‘invoices’ in my database (they aren’t actually invoices, but the principle applies) will relate to hundreds of records in my sub-table, and after an invoice has been checked it would save a lot of time if there was a way to automate it.

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Provided you have criteria to select the invoices that can be queried, then you can use that query to update all records that match.

So you can either save a number of update query's to perform the action, or program them in VBA, which ever you are more comfortable with.