Auto-populating further fields (1 Viewer)

robinfq

Local time
Today, 11:24
Hi y'all,
I am building a database of my fossil and geology collections. One thing that would be super useful would be for it to be able to auto-populate certain fields based on the data I enter in another.
For example: if I enter any figure between 66 to 145 in the 'Age (millions)' column, I would like it to automatically complete the 'Period' column to say Cretaceous, etc.
I am a complete beginner at Access so don't know if this is even possible but I feel like it should be. If so, please explain it like you would to your great gran as my knowledge on this is pretty basic!
Thanks 🦖

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
Sounds like you should have a "period" table which could be used to retrieve values from when your 'Age (millions)' column is updated. BTW, better to avoid the use of "special keys" e.g. )(# when naming fields.
Can you post a copy of the db

bob fitz

AWF VIP
Local time
BTW, I see that you are a new member. Welcome to the forum :)

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Today, 03:24
I believe bob was talking about normalizing your table. Look up "normalization" to get you on the right path.

mike60smart

Registered User.
Local time
Hi y'all,
I am building a database of my fossil and geology collections. One thing that would be super useful would be for it to be able to auto-populate certain fields based on the data I enter in another.
For example: if I enter any figure between 66 to 145 in the 'Age (millions)' column, I would like it to automatically complete the 'Period' column to say Cretaceous, etc.
I am a complete beginner at Access so don't know if this is even possible but I feel like it should be. If so, please explain it like you would to your great gran as my knowledge on this is pretty basic!
Thanks 🦖
Hi Robin
Welcome to the forum.
Are you able to upload a copy of the database to the forum?

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time