blank values need 0's (1 Viewer)

teiben

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:05
Joined
Jun 20, 2002
Messages
462
I need to quickly replace "blank values" with 0's, as a result of users skipping over questions; I've tried doing a find and replace but that didn't work, it seems like I've run into this problem before but my brain has locked up
 
M

marleymanner1

Guest
if you're talking about users skipping over questions in a form, and eventually getting the data to a table, then it's using the NULL. you can put 0's in the form controls upon saving the record, or exiting the form...whichever comes first. if you want to replace these things in the table itself, I recommend opening the table in datasheet view, pushing Ctrl+F on your keypad, and typing in NULL where it says "find", and then "0" where it says "replace". then hit REPLACE ALL.
 

gemma-the-husky

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:05
Joined
Sep 12, 2006
Messages
15,718
you can certainly do an update query that sets values to 0,1 whatever where the criteria is null

in sql

UPDATE Table1 SET Table1.myfield = "1"
WHERE (((Table1.myfieldl) Is Null));

the bracketing is over complex, but that is what access actually generated!
 

Ron_dK

Cool bop aficionado
Local time
Today, 05:05
Joined
Sep 5, 2002
Messages
2,141
In addition to what Gemma said, make sure the field property "Defualt value" is set to 0

Hth
 

WayPay

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 05:05
Joined
Nov 3, 2008
Messages
118
In addition to what Ron_dK said, make sure the field property "Required" is set to Yes.

Htht
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom