Cascading combo box problem - please help (1 Viewer)

choaspes

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 20:21
Hi All

I'm still fairly new to Access, and am attempting to solve a problem that I seem incapable of describing to google in such a way that it returns me a solution, I would be very grateful if one of you lovely people can help.

I want to create a cascading combo box - so far so simple, but in all the tutorials I can find the options in the second combo box are exclusive to the first e.g. combo box 1 selects "state", combo box 2 then displays "city". Each city can only be in one state.

In my scenario each city is in several different states - and so far I'm failing to come up with any sort of strategy as to how to deal with this. I tried giving each state a "yes/no" formatted field in the "city" table, figuring if I could use the first combo box to point access to the right field in the "city" table I could filter those records by "WHERE [fieldnominatedbycombobox1] =True" - but I don't know how to make a one combo box determine which field a subsequent combo box filters by. Am I going about this in totally the wrong way?

Last edited:

John Big Booty

AWF VIP
Local time
, 05:21
Are the cities the same even if they appear in more than one state :confused: or are they different cities that share a common name but nothing else?

choaspes

Registered User.
Local time
Perhaps my choosing "state" and "city" to illustrate my dilemma is actually making it harder to visualise what I'm trying to do. Let's say "states" overlap like a venn diagram and "cities" are single, unique entities that only occur once on the map. A "city" could be located in just one "state", but where "states" overlap - that "city" will be in more than one "state".

choaspes

Registered User.
Local time