Question ComboBox on Subform Problem (1 Viewer)

Steve_T

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 15:49
Hello,
I was wondering if someone could take a look at my problem as i as struggling to come up with a solution.

Is it possible to restricted the possible options available in a Combobox dependant on the value shown in a TextBox?
Eg:

A form called "frmmaster" has a Textbox called txt01, there is a subform on the form called "frmsub01" with a combo box called "cmb01" that has values taken from a table which are "1,2,3,4,5"

If the Textbox (txt01) had a value of "10" and i wanted people to only beable to select "1 or 2" from the Combobox (cmb01)on the Subform is this possible?
I understand this is simular to a cascading Comcobox but i have never used them on a subform before

Either way thankyou for taking the time to look at this problem

Last edited:

JANR

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:49
Sure what you are looking for is called cascading combobox, but the principal is the same. But I am not following the logic, you say that a value of "10" will yield 1 and 2, but what if i type 19 or 7 or anything else?

JR

Steve_T

Registered User.
Local time
Sure what you are looking for is called cascading combobox, but the principal is the same. But I am not following the logic, you say that a value of "10" will yield 1 and 2, but what if i type 19 or 7 or anything else?

JR

If anything else is shown in the Textbox then the other values in the Combobox situated on the Subform would be available to be used. Are you saying when you have the initail value of a Cascading combobox on a form and the final combobox on a subform then there is nothing different in designing it?
For example in the past when i have pulled values stored on a subform and wanted to show them on a associated form its not as simple as pulling a value from one textbox to another on the same form.

JANR

Registered User.
Local time