Current record changes on resizing form - why? (2 Viewers)

skiller

Local time
Today, 20:16
Hi,

I'm fairly new to Access programming and, despite being very familiar with the syntax of VB/VBA, the behaviour of the Access data-bound forms can sometimes be quite alien to me.

I can go into the details of my particular coding "challenge" if asked, but I think my problem can be brought down to the following question:

Why does the current record change back to the first record after a particular resize of the form?

To elaborate, if I have a form which has a "Continuous Forms"-style view of its records, then I don't want the currently selected record to change simply because the form has been resized. But it seems to do exactly that - the focus moves back to the first record.

I've tried to pin down the criteria that cause this issue and it only seems to be a problem if the records are displayed within a subform, AND if the main form containing this subform also has Form Headers/Footers switched on. Unfortunately, I want to use subforms a lot and I want to use headers/footers a lot.

I've attached a tiny sample DB to illustrate the problem. It contains a few test forms:

frmMainWithoutSubform:
This is just a simple form with no subform and no form header/footer.

frmMainWithoutSubform(WithFrmHdrFtr):
As above but with form header/footer.

frmMainWithSubform:
A form containing a subform but no form header/footer.

frmMainWithSubform(WithFrmHdrFtr):
As above but with form header/footer.

To see my problem in action, just open one of the above 4 forms and click in any textbox from a record beyond the first.

Then resize the window as small as you can. (Actually, all you need to do is to make the height small enough so that the header and footer meet, if it has them.)

Then, when you resize the window back to a large enough size to enable you to see the records, you can see if the problem occurs or not.