Database Security (1 Viewer)

shamas21

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 04:29
Hi All

I understand the functions behind access security in terms of users and which groups they belong to.

My only problem is this - Lets say when I log on as an Administrator then I would want to see all Tables, Queries. But lets say a user with only read only access logs on then I dont want them to see the Tables, Queries.

Can this be done? to say that when a user logs on with Admin rights so he can see all tables and queries but a user with read only NOT to see tables and quesries?

Thanks

Matoco1

Registered User.
Local time
Im still new to this aswell but I would create a .MDE file for basic users (in the tools menu) the file will work in the same manner but it locks all of the bits that really need locking. Give it a try and see if its what your looking for. For me it's generally enough but it depends on your user base.

shamas21

Registered User.
Local time
Im still new to this aswell but I would create a .MDE file for basic users (in the tools menu) the file will work in the same manner but it locks all of the bits that really need locking. Give it a try and see if its what your looking for. For me it's generally enough but it depends on your user base.

Thanks for the suggestion. But can you explain the concept behind and MDE file? How can i restrict users from seeing tables and quesries?

Thanks again

Matoco1

Registered User.
Local time
the MDE will compile all of your VBA code so that it can't be read or edited, it will prohibit creating forms or reports or modifying existing ones. But to lock it fully make use of the Startup option from the tools menu assign a form to open on load like a menu. at the bottom uncheck all of the boxes even the advanced ones.

make sure you do this to a copy of your DB. then when done create your MDE and it will have locked all of the menu items.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 23:29