Export data from Access to Word (1 Viewer)

awaham

Local time
Today, 11:53
Remove alert | Edit | Delete | Change type
Question
You cannot vote on your own post
Hi

I am hoping someone can help me. I have designed a database in access to enter patient data for a research study. I want to use some of the data recorded to generate patient letters (in Word) which can be printed and sent to patients. I have googled and being a complete novice at VB I have generated this code which does seem to work for the most part (see below). However, I am getting stuck at one particular point which is that 2 of the fields in the Access database I created using the 'look up wizard' which refers to another table in Access to get the lookup list. One of these is a list of 40 different medications (Field names AHT1 to AHT7) that can be chosen and the other being the frequency (AHT1 Freq to AHT7 Freq) these medications are taken. So the problem is now that using this bookmark methods the extracted data is all correct except the two fields I mentioned above (medication name and frequency). The extracted data for these fields are being displayed as integers, which I think is the unique ID for the medication/frequency in the corresponding lookup tables. I wonder if there is a code to display the actual text names rather then their codes being extracted over into the Word document.

Also, some of the fields are calculated and I want to only display data up to say 1 decimal point but I am getting a full 9 decimal point data extracted over, again is there a code for this that I could use?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Public Sub ExportStudyData()

Dim wApp As Word.Application
Dim wDoc As Word.Document
Dim rs As DAO.Recordset

Set wApp = New Word.Application
Set wDoc = wApp.Documents.Open("C:\Users\awais\Dropbox\Work\Observational Study\Clinic Letters\Study Visit.docx")
Set rs = CurrentDb.OpenRecordset("Study Data")

If Not rs.EOF Then rs.MoveFirst

Do Until rs.EOF