Solved filter \ sort in continuous form (1 Viewer)

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
hello everyone here :)

do u have any form filter \ sort templates ?
i have a continuous form and i would like filter some one the fields by drop down list (combo-box).
looking for a simple solution in google as well.
 

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 16:41
Joined
Oct 29, 2018
Messages
21,528
Or this one...
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
Or this one...
looks awesome, but i can't figure it out how to implement in my current db. i copied 3 modules, copied vba code and nothing works, cause i prob. should change something there.

i'll look youtube some step-by-step solutions.
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,417
You need to set the names correctly in the form load?
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
You need to set the names correctly in the form load?
probably, but i dont get where i should change it
i have 3 modules and couldn't find where to change form name so i can change it so it loads correct form.
anyway, it might be just not my level. im new to access.


1712598918330.png
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,417
looks awesome, but i can't figure it out how to implement in my current db. i copied 3 modules, copied vba code and nothing works, cause i prob. should change something there.

i'll look youtube some step-by-step solutions.
As no-one had created a video for this particular code, that would be a waste of time.
Allen Browne has a lot of snippets, and one is a search form.
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
As no-one had created a video for this particular code, that would be a waste of time.
Allen Browne has a lot of snippets, and one is a search form.
thanks for advice, already reading it
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
btw, Ive been watching Richard Rost a lot lately and i found decent tool to filter by him, but he restricted design view in his template's form
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,417
I would probably start off simple.
In looking for something for you, I actually have a version like that in one of my DBs. Must have come from MajP.

This is code that I use in one of my forms, before I found his code.

Three combos that hold what I want to filter on.
Code:
Private Sub cmdFilter_Click()
Dim strFilter As String

If Me.cboCrew <> "" Then
    strFilter = "Crew = " & Me.cboCrew.Column(0)
End If
If Me.cboShip <> "" Then
    strFilter = strFilter & " AND Ship = " & Me.cboShip.Column(0)
End If
If Me.cboDate <> "" Then
    strFilter = strFilter & " AND [Date] = " & Me.cboDate.Column(0)
End If

If Left(strFilter, 4) = " AND" Then
    strFilter = Mid(strFilter, 5)
End If
Me.sfrmLinks.Form.Filter = strFilter
Me.sfrmLinks.Form.FilterOn = True
End Sub
This is for filter only
1712600921232.png
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
THis is code that I use in one of my forms, before I found his code
okay, im trying to implement it , but something i must be doing wrong.

1st, i created an unbound combo box.
set that i want this combo box pulls data from location field in my location table.
in sql mode i have
Code:
SELECT Tlocations.LocationID, Tlocations.Location
FROM Tlocations
ORDER BY Tlocations.[LocationID];

so i tell combo box to drop down a list of locations that used in my db.

then in the same form i go to "view code" and i have

Code:
Private Sub cmdFilter_Click()
Dim strFilter As String

If Me.cbolocation <> "" Then
    strFilter = "location = " & Me.cbolocation.Column(0)
End If

If Left(strFilter, 4) = " AND" Then
    strFilter = Mid(strFilter, 5)
End If
Me.sfrmLinks.Form.Filter = strFilter
Me.sfrmLinks.Form.FilterOn = True
End Sub

after i change combo box value it doesnt update anything.
 

isladogs

MVP / VIP
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Jan 14, 2017
Messages
18,258
I have several articles on filtering and sorting continuous forms. You could start by looking at this summary article with multiple links to other articles and videos

 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,417
Well you need to press the filter button to run the code?
Plus I cannot believe you have a subform control the same name as mine?
This tells me you do not understand the code, and are just copying and hoping for the best, which is never going to work. :(

You are testing for AND at the start of the filter strong, but you are not even using that word?
That was so I could use any filter choice except the first one.
 
Last edited:

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
you do not understand the code
yes, i dont. i never hide it. thats why its hard for me to do anything in access. but i love access. sad drama.
Well you need to press the filter button to run the code?
no, i was thinking about dropdown list.
1712602992241.png


and are just copying and hoping for the best
i thought its vba commands, thats why i didn't change them. changed only cbolocation and that is it. yeah. hard for me. but life isn't that easy. so im keep observing what i can do.
thank you away. i'll try to change some names in your code. maybe it will work for me.
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
I have several articles on filtering and sorting continuous forms. You could start by looking at this summary article with multiple links to other articles and videos

thanks for your suggestion. already looking at it
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,417
OK. Do you have a subform as I did, or is it just a mainform.
If you want it as you select a value in the combo, that code should be in the after update event of the combo. I used a button as I could use any or all of 3 filter choices, and only wanted to filter after those selections, not as I was selecting them.
 

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 15:41
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
5,490
What is form RecordSource? Does it have a field named Location? What data type is Location?

Most likely value of Me.cbolocation.Column(0) is LocationID. The .Column(0) is not necessary.

Advise not to use exact same name for multiple fields.
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
Do you have a subform as I did, or is it just a mainform.
just mainform

that code should be in the after update event of the combo
i have
Code:
Option Compare Database
Option Explicit

Private Sub cbolocation_AfterUpdate()
Dim strFilter As String

If Me.cbolocation <> "" Then
    strFilter = "location = " & Me.cbolocation.Column(0)
End If

End Sub

Private Sub Form_Load()
  DoCmd.Maximize
End Sub
so far

what does strFilter mean here. is it object's name or vba function ?
 

TipsyWolf

Member
Local time
Today, 02:41
Joined
Mar 20, 2024
Messages
114
What is form RecordSource?
in sql view its

Code:
SELECT Tmain.RiskID, Tmain.RiskCode, Tmain.riskTitle, Tmain.isActive, Tmain.RiskdueDate, Tmain.RiskDate, Tmain.location, Tmain.locationPricies, Tmain.risktype, Tmain.riskcolor, Tmain.reporter, Tmain.picafter, Tmain.picbefore
FROM Tmain;
Does it have a field named Location?
yes
What data type is Location?
short text
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 00:41
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,417
It is a string variable that holds the filter statement.
So now you need to set the filter, then set the filter on.
Me.Filter = strFilter
Me.FilterOn = True
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom