Form Data Advice (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 07:23
Hi Forumers,

I have been reading many posts and viewing much code on here and notice the Recordset is mentioned alot.

If I have a form that cannot move between records, is there any benefit in declaring the recordset?

My frmQuote is based only on the tblQuote, and cannot move next/previous. To open a different quote to view, the form must be closed and then re-opened from a list box doubleclick. I have the below codes to edit a quote or create a new quote.

Add New - DoCmd.OpenForm "frmQuote", , , , acAdd
Edit Existing - DoCmd.OpenForm "frmQuote", acNormal, "", "[QuoteID]=Forms![frmCustomerOverview]![lstCustomerQuoteList] ", acEdit, acNormal

Would I benefit from declaring the recordset for a single record?

Does anyone have a link to a good guide to recordsets, I have looked around but not found anything that really explains it well to me, but I am sure it is something I should learn.

~Matt

Mike Krailo

Local time
Today, 02:23
If I have a form that cannot move between records, is there any benefit in declaring the recordset?
Would I benefit from declaring the recordset for a single record?
So is it a form that allows you to add a new quote, or just look at one selected quote? Adding a single quote record has nothing to do with recordsets per say. So its not clear what your trying to accomplish. If you want to jump to a specific quote record and still be able to scroll through other quotes, that can be done using bookmarks using the general code below.

Code:
Dim StrCrit As String
Dim rst As Recordset
If Nz(TempVars!MyID) > 0 Then
   StrCrit = "MyID = " & TempVars!MyID
   Set rst = Me.RecordsetClone
   rst.FindFirst StrCrit
   If Not rst.NoMatch Then
      Me.Bookmark = rst.Bookmark
   End If
   rst.Close
   Set rst = Nothing
   TempVars.Remove ("MyID")
End If

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time