Form Dim Strings (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 08:42
Hi all,

If I have repeated Dim Strings, can I declare them as public once on a form then just refer back to them anywhere else on the form code?

Example as the below code. This is used on a few different command buttons.

Code:
    Dim strLoggedUser As String
        strLoggedUser = DLookup("EmployeeID", "tblEmployees", "EmployeeNetworkUserName = GetUserName()")

If I have a Public Sub at the start of my form code and all my Dim str values there, can I just call them anywhere else on the form code?

Or can I do this on a module?

~Matt

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Update.

Quick search and I have changed the Dim for Public, but the below now does not work. Says invalid outside procedure.

But when it has Dim, is works. Do I need to add something else?

Code:
Public strLoggedUser As String
        strLoggedUser = DLookup("EmployeeID", "tblEmployee", "EmployeeUserName = GetUserName()")

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
At the top of a form module anything you declare outside of a normal event procedure is persistent for the whole time the form is open.
However, you can't assign a dynamic value to it at that point as that involves running a process.

For value such as a UserID that won't change in the course of normal use I would create that as a self healing property in a globals module.
have a read here:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 15:42
you can declare Public Variables in a Module.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 02:42
If I have a Public Sub at the start of my form code and all my Dim str values there, can I just call them anywhere else on the form code?

Here is how declarations work.