Front end dimension (1 Viewer)

Andy74

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:26
Hello,

I am running an Access application since more than 10 years. It has become a very large one in our organization but I would say very successful: about 100-120 users in different locations across the globe. All front ends are linked to a main SQL backend (read/write) and some other back ends (read only); each user with their own Front End on the local PC's. Users out of the local LAN connect with RDP to a terminal server. I am not a professional programmer, I am a mechanical engineer but I have always enjoyed Access and I found it extremely efficient. And as the main user I am updating and expanding the app almost weekly to new departments/functions in our company: it started from Sales then went into Technical dept, then Quality, After Sales, etc.

The accde file I distribute is now about 80 Mb, with the following number of objects:

Tables 318 (most of them linked, few local)
Queries 1027
Forms 218
Macros 38
Reports 51
Modules 23

Everything is running perfect but some of our IT guys are always complaining about MS Access is not a "modern tool": but when I say "ok, you can build the same front end yourself with PHP or what else" they come back with "well, it will take some years". So at the end I keep on developing with Ms Access.
I wonder: is there anything wrong in my approach? Any suggestion? Somebody is getting worried because a very critical tool is developed and managed by only one person.

I appreciate any comment.

Andrea

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 00:26
Everything is running perfect but some of our IT guys are always complaining about MS Access is not a "modern tool": but when I say "ok, you can build the same front end yourself with PHP or what else" they come back with "well, it will take some years".