Generic Form with "Save", "Cancel" buttons (1 Viewer)

moi

Local time
Today, 16:27
I am a beginner. and i am searching a demo form with 2 buttons (Save, Cancel). Reason is, i don't want the data being entered to automatically save into table.. can someone please help me.. thank you in advance..

KitaYama

Local time
Today, 17:27
I would never suggest an unbound form if there's some other way to do the same task, specially to someone who is new to Access.
I would set the Cycle property of the form to current record, add save and undo buttons and use OnClose event to undo before closing if the form is dirty.
User should either save the record or exit without saving.

Last edited:

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 04:27
moi,
Welcome to AWF.
What exactly do you mean by "automatically"? You wouldn't Save bad data, so you validate the entered data, then either reject or save the data based on your validation. As Gasman says-- use the BeforeUpdate event of the form to do your validation. See this post for similar information.

Since you are a self-identified beginner, I suggest you describe your proposed application to readers and get some feedback. Do some research on various topics -reading posts, watching videos, analyzing sample databases...

Access does many things for you behind the scenes; better to learn and use these features than try to struggle with additional work.

Last edited:

Edgar_

Local time
Today, 03:27
I would never suggest an unbound form if there's some other way to do the same task, specially to someone who is new to Access.
I would set the Cycle property of the form to current record, add save and undo buttons and use OnClose event to undo before closing if the form is dirty.
User should either save the record or exit without saving.