Getting sum of child's field. (1 Viewer)

Flashbond

Local time
Today, 12:06
Bill_ID(PK)--------Name--------------Address-----------Total
1683---------------Anakin Skywalker---Tatooine------------500$
------------------+ Product_ID(PK)---Bill_ID(FK)-----ProductName----------------------Price
--------------------23-----------------1683------------Super Cooled Galactic Laser Shield---200$
--------------------28-----------------1683------------Turbo Boosted Hyper-Jump Engine---300$

Hi Guys!

I am very new to Access.
Can some tell me how to get "Total" field of Bill table with sum of child Product table's "Price" field?

Thanks a lot!

Last edited:

Cronk

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 19:06
I hope that when you refer to Child, you mean a child subform.

If so, add a text box with the control source set to
=Sum([Bill]) where Bill is the field that stores the amount of the individual items.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:06
Just to add to Cronk's post

If so, add a text box with the control source set to
=Sum([Bill]) where Bill is the field that stores the amount of the individual items.
The control source needs to be in the form or report footer

Flashbond

Local time
No, I didn't mean subform. s
Subrecords of a table as FKs depended on PKs.
I have only tables. Should I have to create forms?

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
if you just want a total in a query then the following sql will do what you require:

Code:
SELECT BillTbl.Bill_ID, BillTbl.Name, Sum(ProductTbl.Price) as Total 
FROM BillTbl INNER JOIN ProductTbl ON BillTbl.Bill_ID=ProductTbl.BillID
GROUP BY BillTbl.Bill_ID, BillTbl.Name

Note that Name is a reserved word and can produce unexpected results so recommend you change the name of this field - here is a link to access reserved words http://support.microsoft.com/kb/286335