Glad to be here (and get help/ideas) (1 Viewer)

twgonder

Local time
Today, 03:42
Hello, I'm Thomas (but here in Colombia, Tomás). Professionally I was known by T. Wade. I started programming in Assembly and Fortran in university in the 1970s and got addicted. My degree was in business and accounting.

I grew up in Santa Barbara, California. I spent a lot of time trying to surf, and on my dad´s boats, sailing, fishing and diving at the Channel Islands. I don't miss the cold water there. My dermatologists hates that I spent a lot of time on the tennis courts during summer vacations too.

I went to Los Angeles for university and worked at various jobs as a programmer, analyst and later sales support and training for Microdata, a minicomputer company that was part of McDonnell Douglas and its data divisions. They made the first computers that ran a version of the PICK operating system. It was a "database" oriented OS that gave you some basic files containing dictionaries for the data, a place for the data, a few utilities and a great business BASIC that integrated well with a simple, English-based query language that used the dictionaries that defined the data fields (for example: “Sort customers by lastname by firstname lastname firstname phone”. Change the word “sort” to “sselect” and you had an index that the BASIC could use to process records one at a time. As Dick Pick was fond of saying, I'll give you enough rope to hang yourself. Dick also wasn’t a fan if distributed processing and all its complications when saying, “If god had wanted brains to be distributed, he would have put them in your fingertips.” I see the wisdom as I contemplate an app that can run in field offices with a WAN that can fail at the worst of times.