How to create calculated field in MS Access table (1 Viewer)

SachAccess

Local time
Today, 22:31
Hi,

I am trying to create a calculated field in MS Access Table
I have never done it before. Trying for the first time.

I have a date column in my table. I need to consider difference between Book Date and today and populate the value in the calculated field accordingly.
For example Book date is 30-Oct-22 and today is 6-Oct-2022 so the difference is less than 30 but more than 16 so the calculated field should have value as GREEN
If the difference is less than 16 and more than or equal to 5 then it should be AMBER
Anything less than 5 should be RED
I am not able to understand how to write this formula in Expression Builder. If possible can anyone please help me in this.

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Tomorrow, 01:01
you need form for those Colors and use Conditional Formatting.

plog

Banishment Pending
Local time
Today, 12:01
You shouldn't use calculated fields in tables.

Normally if you need a value calculated you do that in a query and then reference the query instead of the table to get that value.

However, it seems this calculation is an intermediate step to making something conditionally formatted. This link will help you with that:

Then since you want to calculate the difference between two dates you would use DateDiff to do the actual calculation:

SachAccess

Local time
you need form for those Colors and use Conditional Formatting.
My mistake, I need text as GREEN, AMBER and RED and not the color.
I am trying to populate text values in the existing table based on the date difference.

Thanks for the help. Have a nice day ahead. :)

SachAccess

Local time
You shouldn't use calculated fields in tables.

Normally if you need a value calculated you do that in a query and then reference the query instead of the table to get that value.