How to customize template? (1 Viewer)

BruceMalone

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 07:00
Hello. I am new to Access and trying to build a database. I built one in excel but found that access is better suited. I am new with Access but was able to create a new simple database with table and form. I looked at the templates provided (contacts and northwind) and see it contains much more features that could be useful to me. I however do not know how to customize? I used the templates and deleted the fields from the table and forms but when using it gives me all kinds of issues. I also tried creating a new database and used the external database source to only import the objects I need but it doesnt work as intended either. Is there a simple guide or solution for me to customize these great templates to use for my own?

For example, in the contacts template I delete some fields from the contacts table that I dont need. But then when i go to the contact list form and try to do a search, it gives a message "Enter parameter value" E-mail address.

Thanks in advance.

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 06:00
No, there is no simple guide or solution. Modifying a db involves much more than just deleting fields from tables. Queries may have explicit references to fields, fields might be used in expressions in textboxes, code (macros or VBA) could reference fields. Building a db from scratch has its challenges but can sometimes be easier than trying to figure out some other designer's logic and tracking down all elements that must be altered.

Some of those templates often use features many of us advise against: multi-value field, attachment field, hyperlink field, lookup fields in tables, spaces and/or punctuation/special characters in naming convention, reserved words as names of objects.

Last edited:

BruceMalone

Registered User.
Local time