How to display MEMO text in reports.. (1 Viewer)

vsap

vsap
Local time
Today, 06:12
Hello Guys,
I am new to Access 2000 and issue is ,I have a field name product_name with datatype MEMO,when I chek my report at the place of product_name instead of the name of product it shows a squared symbol ,i dont understand how I can see the values of product_name.

SO anyone can help me out ,bcos of this I m stuck into my project.

Hope to get answer asap...

Thanks!
Vsap

KenHigg

Local time
To start with, it's seems odd that you've place 'product' name in a memo field. Could you elaborate on why?

vsap

vsap
Local time
Let me ellaborate,I have table in sql which has field ,product_name varchar2(400) ,so in access 2000 datatype is MEMO ,now when I run the report,it displays all the field with records but at product_name column it shows square symbol,it doesnt show the records,so now ,how I should display the values for product_name in the report.
Hope u got it now..

Thanks,
vsap

KenHigg

Local time
Hum... You got me stumped on this one. Is there any way to change the sql fld to 250 chars so that it comes over as a char fld instead of a memo? I suspect this will cause problems in the future as sorting, filtering, etc will be a problem in memo flds and product name seems kind of important...

vsap

vsap
Local time
Thanks! No I cant change the field to 250 as there are some records it has name more than 250 characters and its already in production.
Is any other way ? Please let me know..

KenHigg

Local time
This may be varchar2 / Access 2000 issue. Isn't varchar2 a unicode deal?

Edit: You may want to post this in an Oracle forum...

Last edited:

KenHigg

Local time
Is this a snapshot type deal where you just need to run a report?

vsap

vsap
Local time
Its regular report,where user can check the report when he hits the button,so its access 2000 issue,I just want to know how I can display MEMO field,it should be not big deal.Hope to get the answer .

Thanks!
vsap

KenHigg