how to open a specific file using a search function in access 2003 (1 Viewer)

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 16:26
Good Afternoon,
I have a access 2003 database, and i am wondering if i can't setup a search function in a form that will open a file in windows explorer?

What i would like to do is have a test box that i enter in a number for example: 1234 then have a button named "Search" hit that button and it opens a corresponding file in windows explorer named 1234, or just opens that folder directly..

Is this possible as it will make my job so much easier.

I am very new to this so hopefully it won't be too involved in VBA code...

Thanks in advance

Andrew

JHB

Have been here a while
Local time
Today, 08:26
Do you mean - if a file with the name typed in the textbox is found in a directory the open explore within that directory or ????
If not found what then ??
Could you explain a little more what you are trying to do!

awade

Registered User.
Local time
Hi JBH,

I would like to have a text box which i would type in a number for example 1234.
I would then hit a command button named "search"
That would then open a specific folder in my computer named 1234.

The folders are located on the "C" drive "C:\Program Files\eDNA\Engine Core Folders"

Each folder in that directory has its own number, i would like to be able to type any one of those numbers in the search text box in the database to open up its corresponding folder in that directory.

If they type a number in that is not in that directory, a message box would pop up saying "Serial Number does not exist, please try again"

Thanks

JHB

Have been here a while
Local time
Create a form, put in a textbox, call it SearchBox and a button call it Search.
Place the below code in the click event for the button, remember to change the foldername to fit yours.

Code:
Private Sub Search_Click()
  Dim Foldername As String

Foldername = "C:\Program Files\eDNA\Engine Core Folders\" & Me.SearchBox