How to query without using the query wizard (1 Viewer)

jerrywinger

Local time
Today, 07:09
Hi, I'm very very new to Microsoft Access with no background in computer programming and am now learning how to use query. I have 2 tables and both contains lookup values from each tables. There are also multiple values in some of the fields.

The problem is when I use the simple query wizard, the query shows all the results properly. But when I query using the design view, it only shows a few data.

Is there something wrong with my table ?:confused:

Alansidman

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:09
Jerry;
Without seeing your SQL statements, it would be difficult to determine what the issues are. Post the statements here and let us have a chance to help you.
Alan

jerrywinger

Local time
Alan,
I don't know programming and am new to Microsoft Access. In microsoft Access, I used the simple query wizard as well as entered the query in the query design view.

I have 2 tables - 1 for Individual contact details and another is Organisation contact details.
Both have fields that contain lookup values. I have a field called Mail_to which contains value such as Home or Organisation. It is to tell me whether to send the mails to house address or office address.

In the Individual contact table, for the company name, you have to look it up from the Organisation contact table.

In the design query view, when I select these 2 tables and run a simple query, i.e. first_name and mobile no., I only get 2 results. But if I use the simple query wizard to query from the 2 tables, I get a complete results.

I'm not sure what to do as I want to do more complex queries that the simple query wizard won't allow me to but I can't even get results from a simple query at the query design window right now.

Alansidman

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:09