How to Sequential Numbering that includes Month Year and resets every year (1 Viewer)

phsyche_12

Local time
Today, 15:58
How can I create a sequential numbering that includes month and year, and it should reset every year.
Sample: 0001, 0002, 0003, and so on.... then Month, 01, 02, and so on... then Year, 2023, 2024, and so on...
Shows like this: mm-sequence number-yyyy
February 2023: 02-0001-2023 note: 0001 is the unique ID Autonumber

Thanks in advance

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 08:58
You cannot use an autonumber in that case for that.
You would likely use DMax() +1 with criteria for the year.

phsyche_12

Local time
You cannot use an autonumber in that case for that.
You would likely use DMax() +1 with criteria for the year.
Thank you, I only have few knowledge about MS Access, Since I am a newbie user....I tried some VBA but I can't figure out how to do it, may you please help, Thank you...

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
You have a table that holds at least
Your sequence number
Your Year
You would also use the NZ() function in case the number is not found, as in the case of a new year, or you could populate the table with 0 and years for as long as you need it. If the number is not found, then you would create a new record with the year and zero.

Then you use DMax() (Google the syntax) to get the number for the year and add 1 to it.
If multi user db, only do it just before you save the record, else, someone else could get the same number, if the table number has not changed.

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
The problem with maintaining sequential numbers is if a record is deleted you then have a gap so your numbers are no longer sequential.

also, your ‘number’ will be text - which takes up more space, and given your format, will be slower to search unless you always include the month in your search term. Reason being indexing cannot be used if the month is not included