Solved How to use multi-value in query search? (1 Viewer)

aref

New member
Local time
Today, 10:40
Joined
Jan 10, 2023
Messages
27
Hello
I used the multivalue property to search in the query through the form, but it doesn't work
please help
Thanks
 

aref

New member
Local time
Today, 10:40
Joined
Jan 10, 2023
Messages
27
Attachment:
 

Attachments

  • Sample.zip
    26.8 KB · Views: 61

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:40
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
43,484
The short answer is don't use Multivalue fields. Do it the right way using a separate table that YOU control.

The long answer is You need to be able to overcome all the obstacles caused by using this abomination data type, PLUS you need to learn a new variation of SQL in order to use these fields in any query. You also need to be aware that you can NEVER upgrade a table with any of the abomination data types to SQL Server. So, if that is something you might ever have to do. Get rid of them NOW. Do not even attempt to figure out how to work with them.

 
Last edited:

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 05:40
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
8,605
If you decide to do this properly you can achieve that effect using my Multi Select ListBox Filter
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:40
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,670
it won't work because what you are seeing is formatted as a comma separated string - but without the quote marks required to identify it as a string, What you actually have is a list of colors, one colour per row. You cannot use them as a filter or criteria. As a test, just include [Forms]![Form1]![Color] as a column in your query - it returns nothing

Agree with the other comments, multivalue fields look useful, but you quickly find they have severe limitations. Aside from the fact you can't do what you want to do here, they can be a drag on performance once you have a few thousand records, they can't be indexed and they can't be sorted.
 

aref

New member
Local time
Today, 10:40
Joined
Jan 10, 2023
Messages
27
Thank you for your answers.
What should I do if I want to run an unbound query through the form and different colors inserted in the unbound text box are displayed. The mentioned cases and examples are bounded.

How to use the IN operator in the query for the above search.
 
Last edited:

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 05:40
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
8,605
Thank you for your answers.
What should I do if I want to run an unbound query through the form and different colors inserted in the unbound text box are displayed. The mentioned cases and examples are bounded.

How to use the IN operator in the query for the above search.
Did you not look at my example, which is super robust and easy to use? I doubt you find a better solution.
 

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:40
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
43,484
I like @MajP 's solution but here is a simple one that might be easier to implement using an unbound multi-select listbox to build an In() clause.
 

aref

New member
Local time
Today, 10:40
Joined
Jan 10, 2023
Messages
27
Hello, thank you all for following up
The mentioned examples are great, but they do not solve my problem.
The issue is that:
I have a text box in the form that is for searching.
In this text box, search items are separated with semicolons, such as:
Blue; pink; Purple
When the run query button is clicked and the query is executed, all the records that include:
Blue; pink; Purple
are displayed.
But I don't know where the problem is.
................................................
I can do this manually in the query and it works
In ("Blue"; "pink"; "Purple")
But not through the form.
 
Last edited:

arnelgp

..forever waiting... waiting for jellybean!
Local time
Today, 17:40
Joined
May 7, 2009
Messages
19,246
here try you database.
 

Attachments

  • Sample.zip
    65.6 KB · Views: 83

ebs17

Well-known member
Local time
Today, 11:40
Joined
Feb 7, 2020
Messages
1,983
But I don't know where the problem is.
The text box has one content, and that is a string, solely due to the characters used.
Code:
strContent = "Blue; pink; Purple"
This is something different than what the query requires. You can do that:
Code:
strContent = Replace(strContent, "; ", Chr(34) & ", " & Chr(34))
strContent = "(" & Chr(34) & strContent & Chr(34) & ")"
Debug.Print strContent
For the IN clause, however, you cannot pass the listing in parentheses as a simple parameter. Here you would have to dynamically assemble the SQL statement using VBA.

A slightly different variant is a bit simpler here, but does not offer index use (sometimes you have a lot of data and still want performance). The achieved filter would look like this:
Code:
WHERE Instr(1, ";Blue;pink;Purple;", ";" & FieldColor & ";") > 0

' suitable for parameter transfer
WHERE Instr(1, parListing, ";" & FieldColor & ";") > 0
Content preparation:
Code:
strContent = ";" & Replace(strContent, " ", "") & ";"
Debug.Print strContent
 

June7

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 01:40
Joined
Mar 9, 2014
Messages
5,493
Why use GROUP BY in RowSource query when there are no aggregate functions?
 

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 05:40
Joined
Feb 19, 2002
Messages
43,484
Of course, the real solution is to normalize the database rather than trying to find a method that allows you to get around the mistakes in your database design.

@ebs17 explained your problem and gave you a solution. Just keep in mind that the selection will be OR, not AND.

Where Somefield In("Blue"; "pink"; "Purple")
translates to:
Where somefield = "Blue" OR somefield = "pink" OR somefield = "Purple"
 

MajP

You've got your good things, and you've got mine.
Local time
Today, 05:40
Joined
May 21, 2018
Messages
8,605
The whole idea of filtering a multi select field with an unbound multi select field is STUPID!!!
But here you go.
 

Attachments

  • MajP_Sample.accdb
    1.3 MB · Views: 74

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom