Solved Insert Query vs VBA Code (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 21:23
Hi all,

I have always used a method of creating an insert query and then calling this with VBA when I need to add data to a table.

Code:
DoCmd.SetWarnings False
DoCmd.OpenQuery "qryInsertReturnAction", acViewNormal, acEdit
DoCmd.SetWarnings True

Is there any benefit to changing this to have the SQL code in the VBA instead of calling the query?

~Matt

ebs17

Local time
Today, 22:23
If the SQL statement is constant, you get no benefit. On the contrary: The OpenQuery method cannot do anything with an SQL statement, so you will run into an error.

The second point: For a query saved as an object, the first time the query is executed, an execution plan is determined and saved that contains the result of optimizing the query flow. Each subsequent execution of the query uses this execution plan directly, eliminating the time it takes to create it. So the query will run faster.
However, this speed advantage is usually only in the very low millisecond range, which is not noticeable and usually not even measurable.

Better call
Code:
CurrentDb.Execute "qryInsertReturnAction", dbFailOnError
If query execution errors actually occur, you should know about them so that you can respond appropriately.

MattBaldry

Local time
If the SQL statement is constant, you get no benefit. On the contrary: The OpenQuery method cannot do anything with an SQL statement, so you will run into an error.

The second point: For a query saved as an object, the first time the query is executed, an execution plan is determined and saved that contains the result of optimizing the query flow. Each subsequent execution of the query uses this execution plan directly, eliminating the time it takes to create it. So the query will run faster.
However, this speed advantage is usually only in the very low millisecond range, which is not noticeable and usually not even measurable.

Better call