Is Access the best way to go about this project? (1 Viewer)

kb44

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 10:52
Hi all,

I have been tasked with evaluating whether Access might be the best solution to this issue.

*Background: I am fairly new to Access and am a new employee here. Microsoft software is used here for the most part.

Info:

• 800 employees in 30 different countries
  • Sales Employee records (territories, positions, whom they report to, etc change weekly
  • These records are currently being saved on Excel sheets and being consolidated by a regional employee

As you can imagine, this has turned into a nightmare with typos and other mistakes.

We currently just have a server that is mirrored. It is basically just a file share.
There are select employees in each country have access to all Microsoft apps (including Access) and can upload files to shared drives (this is how it is being done right now).

I was wondering if Access can handle this task without any issues. Or if it would even be the best tool to use to begin with.

I am thinking of creating a form (from a table) within Access that they can fill out.

Something that they can use to select an employee number (drop down), which then fills out the rest of the employee info in the other fields, so that we don't have 25 forms from the different countries.

Then also give them the ability to make changes to most of this form in order to update with current information.

I was also wondering what export options are available from Access? Can the data be exported to Excel or other programs?

Thanks for any help you all can give.

Dreamweaver

Local time
Today, 15:52
Access with SQL server should work just fine I'm not into SQL Server yeat so can't advise there but if you have a server your company uses thoughout the comapny then thats where I might put SQL Server.