locked out of being able to edit forms (1 Viewer)

brian1

Local time
Today, 14:03
SUMMARY - 2 PROBLEMS
1. can't edit main menu form at all - Rt-click does nothing
2. can edit sub menu forms, but no toolbars available, so can only edit existing objects

DETAILS:

I'm trying to edit an existing Access database system for a friend's company. The person who wrote all this is no longer with the company, and no one there knows anything about Access.

I need to make some changes, mainly eliminate bloat by changing the employee database "picture" field from OLE to linked relative pathname and reflect that change on a couple forms. Should be pretty simple, if I could only get to the source code. The main employee mdb goes from 2G to 2M when I drop the OLE "Picture" field and add a PicturePath text field, so I know I'm on the right track there.

I'm new to Access, but I've been in database programming & admin (xBase & Oracle) a long time. The concept of the users and the developer using the same tool to open the same files is quite foreign to me, as is the concept of having forms, reports, queries, macros, VB code, and tables all in the same mdb file. I've been reading a lot to get up to speed to make what should be some simple edits to the system.

The database has been split and there are 3 mdb files on the server and 8 on each local user's PC. The main tables are in the server mdb files. The file format is Access 2003.

The "main starting" mdb is a menu with 6 items on it. Each button calls a submenu, which has sub-submenus & so on. 5 of those main menu buttons each calls one of the other local mdb files, although one of them calls an mdb on the server. No idea why that is.