Opening Shared Excel documents from Access (2 Viewers)

M3opa

Local time
Today, 11:57
Hi All,

I am having a bit of a unique problem with a database I am trying to create to improve processes at my work. I would like to open a shared Excel document using a button click and whilst this works perfectly on my own computer, the moment it is opened on a colleagues computer, the code breaks down due to how the file path on our computer system works. (it goes C:\Users\UsersName\SharepointDocuments). My current code is as per the below but please bare in mind that I am very new to access and may not understand complicated responses about specific VBA!

Code:
Function OpenExcelComponentShortageR()

Dim MyXL As Object

Set MyXL = CreateObject("Excel.Application")

With MyXL
        .Application.Visible = True
        .Workbooks.Open "C:\Users\(MyName)\(Company Name)\(Company Name) Shared Documents - Documents\Planning Reports - under construction\(Company) CPP Files\Other Excel Files\Component Shortage Report.xlsx"
    End With

End Function

I hope the above makes sense, Let me know if you need further information! I am looking for a solution so that it will open on anyone's computer!

With Thanks,

M3opa

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Get the username from Environ() function and amend path to suit.

M3opa

Local time
Thank you. I will learn about this function later and see how I can amend my code to suit.

Am I right in thinking that I would "Dim UserName as String" and then concatenate that variable and the rest of the file path together?

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Yes, that would be the way I would do it.

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 06:57
If the documents are shared, how can they be on your c: drive?

M3opa

Local time