Orders/Delivery Notes with partial fulfillment capability (1 Viewer)

jt196

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 23:15
Firstly, I'd like to say that this is my first post on the forum - it seems like a great community - so a big hello to all people on here, and a big thank you in advance.

I'm also a newcomer to access, so please treat me with kid gloves and assume that I'm not an expert in the level of detail you give in your advice.

Currently I'm trying to create a database for a manufacturing company and I'm a little stuck with delivery notes and the possibility to partially fulfill them.

I have four tables (among others like customers and products):

Orders

OrderDetail

DeliveryNotes

DNDetail

The Orders is linked to the OrderDetail table as you would expect, delivery notes is linked to the Order table (by the key field), and DNDetail is linked to OrderDetail (by order number) and the DeliveryNotes table (by DN number).

Currently I have a form up and running to enter orders into the database, but the DeliveryNotes form seems just a bit weird.

I'd like to be able to create a form that allows me to select an order, select the items on it that are shipping out, and the quantity that is shipping out - then have that amount be subtracted from and amount due column in the OrderDetail table (OR added to an amount delivered column in the same table OR somehow work in a query so it shows up that the order has been fulfilled somehow....)

It's all a little vague I know, but that's my level of experience I'm afraid. Sorry about that... I know I need to go away and learn more about Access, which I'm doing 3-4 hours a day of, but any help here would really make a difference to what I'm doing...

Thanks in advance!

JT

PNGBill

Win10 Office Pro 2016
Local time
Tomorrow, 10:15
I would have considered one table to hold transactions ie details of any documents.