Please Help with Coding! (1 Viewer)

MysticElaine

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 22:07
Hello. I am very new to Access (just opened the program for the first time on 5/21/14). I am creating a project for work, which is coming along pretty well. I am stuck though on populating form1 from form2 after selecting an item in a listbox as well as getting the listbox to filter correctly. I need to do this in a couple of different areas. Here is my project in a nut shell

Form1 "Start" has 2 buttons, New Entry and Search.
When I click New Entry, it opens up Form 2 "frmCases", which is the main form, I guess. From here, I enter lots of data. At one point, when I click on the Client text box, it opens a third form "frmClients." This form has 3 text boxes, First Name, Last Name, and DOB. These text boxes are to not only add a client to the "Clients" table, but also are used to search the "Client List" listbox. I also have a text box that just has the concatenate of the First and Last name, which I was using to populate the previous form. What I wanted, was to make sure that the client being added was actually new. So if as they were typing in the information they saw the name pop up in the listbox, they would then click that name instead of clicking the add new client button. Regardless of if they clicked the add new client button or clicked the list box, I wanted the client's name and unique number to then be populated in the "frmClients" form.

Last night I had gotten the search boxes to sort of work, where when I typed the first name, the list box filtered, but when I typed the last name, it didn't finish filtering but also added first names with the same last name. I had also managed to get the Client name populated in the form I wanted when I clicked the add new client button. I could never get the selection from the list box to populate. Here is my code for these:

Code:
Private Sub First_Name_Change()
Dim ClSearchSQL As String