populate textbox with calculated value taking values from database and form fields. (1 Viewer)

pinky

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 01:42
Hi,
I am new to ms access. Trying to build a form with lost of functionality.

I have to calculate a value and display in text box. Its calculation is something like this.

"[amount+Number(additional_amount)]*3"

where Income is queried from database table Income_table. It has columns year, amount, additional_amount. According to the year, its needs to pick the amount and additional amount.(Select amount, additional_amount from income where year = @year(provided in form Yeartxt field).

Get the Number from form Numbertxt field.

Substitute amount, additional_amount,number in above formula and display it in calculatedtxt filed in form.

Please can anyone help me with a event procedure or macro or module for this scenario.

Thanks,
Pinky

jzwp22

Access Hobbyist
Local time
Today, 04:42
Is the form bound to the income table or is the form unbound or bound to another table?

Assuming that the form is not bound to the income table, then you will need to use the DLookup() function to get each value you need from the income table.

Also the word "year" is a reserved word in Access so I strongly suggest that you change your field name to something else.

The DLookup function would look something like this assuming that your year field is numeric. You have to substitute your actual field, table, form and form control names etc.

DLookup("amount","Income_table", "year=" & forms!yourformname!yeartext)

You will need a second Dlookup function for the additional amount.

pinky

Registered User.
Local time
Thank you very much for replying.