protect all data in form from editing (with override)

fau5tu5

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 02:58
I have a data entry form that has near 120 fields per form.

The form lets you view previously entries as well as "ADD a new entry".

I need to be able to in some way protect past entries from mistaken editing/overwriting.

In short to be able to lock all the info on a form, (single row in single table) but allow for a new entry to be input. All the fields on the new form need to be editable until they are finalized "saved". (so I cant simply put a lock on everything notNull or whatever)

I would prefer to do this with a couple buttons.

Ideally there would be:

1 (There is now) a "NEW" button that starts a new row and entry.

2. a "SAVE" record button that finalized and locks the row/entry

3. an "EDIT" button that lets you unlock a row to edit or correct later.

Keep in mind that I am still very new to access and VBA (unfortunately I have to squeeze in my learning without much time.)
I understand many of the concepts and logic of it and VB/VBA/SQL but lack much of the experience and functional knowledge.. So actual code, and better yet examples that I can take apart, emulate, study etc.. work much MUCH better than suggestions that refer to methods or verbage most of the experts here are as familiar with as breathing..

Set the form's Allow Edits property to NO and then if you wish to edit you could use a button to enable them:

Me.AllowEdits = True

and the reverse

Me.AllowEdits = False

Set the form's Allow Edits property to NO and then if you wish to edit you could use a button to enable them:

Me.AllowEdits = True

and the reverse

Me.AllowEdits = False

Ok.. I set two buttons and First off "THANK YOU" the "No Edits" (Me.AllowEdits = True) does lock it down..

AND allows for new entries and edits of those entries until it has been saved.

So.. With that I can get it funtional..

Question though..