Query-Join help needed (1 Viewer)

MiniD011

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 21:27
Good morning,

I have a query I plan to base a report on, and am having trouble with something which seems as though it should be quite basic, but as I'm new to this I am struggling.

Essentially I want to produce a query which looks at a table and says how many records came from each department. I have two tables, one where the data is recorded (tblAdjustments) and another, centrally linked, which gives the department name and ID (Department).

In my current query I have all of the relevant information, however can't show the Department Name, I just keep getting the Department ID. Below is my code:

SELECT Count(tblAdjustments.ID) AS CountOfID, tblAdjustments.DeptName
FROM Department INNER JOIN tblAdjustments ON Department.Dept_Id = tblAdjustments.DeptName
GROUP BY tblAdjustments.DeptName;

I am new to creating queries so I am hoping it is something fairly simple, and hopefully can take any help from this to other work of a similar nature.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Dan

JHB

Have been here a while
Local time
Today, 22:27
Do they not have to be both an ID?
Department.Dept_Id = tblAdjustments.DeptName
Should the department name not come from the Department table?
SELECT .... , tblAdjustments.DeptName ...
I think the correct query should look something like below:
SELECT Count(tblAdjustments.ID) AS CountOfID, Department.DeptName
FROM Department INNER JOIN tblAdjustments ON Department.Dept_Id = tblAdjustments.ID GROUP BY Department.DeptName;

MiniD011

Registered User.
Local time
Hi again,

Thanks for the reply, I have tried to implement this but instead of producing a table with the number of adjustments per department, the above code just produced a list of all of the departments but didn't consider the number of records from tblAdjustments at all.