Question for CDrake and the VIP guys... (1 Viewer)

adamrick

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 11:19
Hi Dave, Bob et al,

Many many thanks for helping me out with my Excel export issue. You are all scholars and a gentlemen! Can I beg your assistance on one tiny issue which is driving me nuts? Sorry, I am a newbie to this and any help given is always appreciated!

I have created a new form in my database frmTimesheet which captures time used for my service engineers. It's extremely basic at this point (created from examples and demo's scrounged from this great site and the web) with just the module to calculate elapsed time, the form, the query and the associated tables. I have yet to design the reports and excel export (easy enough to do last). The query qryTimesheet simply adds up the hours used by all engineers to be displayed in a report, or exported to Excel.

The tricky bit is this:

I have a form frmJobs where the engineer manually insert the hours used in a text box UnitHourUsed. What I would like to do is have the time sheet automatically add up all the hours used for a specific job (based on the job number selected in the form frmTimesheet) and insert the result in the text box UnitHoursUsed in frmJobs. I know I can use a SUM function in the text box UnitHoursUsed, but I am unsure how to add all the time for a particular job first (from the table tblTimesheet) before inserting the result in the UnitHoursUsed field. I know I have to first add the hours up, but where? In another query or in another table? How can I add up all the hours used?