RecordSet vs Recordsource for dynamically binding data (1 Viewer)

Martynwheeler

Local time
Today, 06:42
Hi there,

I am new to access and am trying to create a question db for my students. I have most of the db working but I am wondering about some general concepts and trying to get the best approach.

When setting the data for a form at run time I can set

Me.RecordSource = some SQL

However, this approach means that I have to hard code the sql string into my event rather than using a saved query with the parameters passed to it (or maybe I just can't figure out how).
It works but for large joins the sql string is several lines long and difficult to debug/edit.

The other approach is to set the forms recordset directly.

Me.RecordSet = some recordset

The latter approach allows me to send parameters to a saved query via querydefs. This all works for a foem

If I try the same for a report it says that it is no longer supported.

So a few questions:

In general, what is the preferred approach, setting the recordset or recordsource?

Is it possible to set the recordsource using a saved query with parameters?

Do I have to hard code the sql with where clauses to the recordsource?

Hope that makes sense.
Thanks in advance

Martyn

Thanks

Uncle Gizmo

Nifty Access Guy
Staff member
Local time
If I try the same for a report it says that it is no longer supported.

I'm not sure what you mean by that?

I use a form, and within the form I build my SQL statements with VBA code, parameters picked from combo boxes m, text boxes and the like on the form. I then save the SQL statement as a text string within a custom property within the form.

A command button on the form opens the report and the report reaches out to the form and extracts the SQL from the custom property and places it within its own record source.

I explain it in a Blog on my website here:-

theDBguy

I’m here to help
Staff member
Local time
Yesterday, 22:42