Referrals AND Contacts (1 Viewer)

Fizzio

Chief Torturer
Local time
Today, 09:03
I work in healthcare and I am trying to produce a report to show both referrals and contacts for a given month on the same report but I am having problems structuring this.
The report is sub-grouped by referrer and diagnosis but on each page I want to show the total number of referrals AND the total number of contacts for a given month. However I can only seem to show one or the other. I created 2 queries, Referrals and Contacts then queried these to bring them together into the report. However if I have Referrals and Contacts for eg back pain in a month then everyting is ok but if I only have referrals OR contacts then I get a blank line.

I want to be able to show ALL referrals even if there are NO contacts for that diagnosis and ALL contacts even if there are NO referrals but a typical outer join only allows this one way. How could I best structure my report / query to show this data?

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Today, 01:03
Create two reports, one for Contacts and one for Referrals (based on a separate query for each). Then in a Main Report, insert both of the two in as Sub-reports. You can tie the main and each sub-report together based on your Key field (for example, Practitioner Number).

BL
hth
(also in healthcare environment)

[This message has been edited by boblarson (edited 04-15-2002).]

Fizzio

Chief Torturer
Local time
Cheers Bob,
Is there any way I can show the information all on 1 line for each diagnosis? ie in each referrer group, show all a list of diagnosis with the following info NumberReferred, AvgWait (qryReferrals) , NumberTreated, AvgTreatments, TotalTime (qryActivity) using the subreport strategy or do I have to settle with the subreports on different places on the page. I wanted to avoid having to duplicate Diagnoses on the page if possible.

Thanks for your help.

boblarson

Smeghead
Local time
Today, 01:03