Report to return percentage of Total Count against a Complex Derived value (1 Viewer)

Oarygone

Local time
Today, 08:37
Hi,

I'm rather new to Access and VBA. It's been well over 10 years since I've dabbled with it (i.e. create a couple simple applications to solve some smaller issues), so I'm re-learning some aspects, but largelylearning aspects for the first time because I need to solve more complex issues.

The problem I need to solve is, I need to create a report that returns multiple percentages into the report. The percentages are to be calculated against a query that I created, and a value that I will need to derive. The complex parts are...

1) That I need to compare each unique entity's (i.e. each unique Facility's) most recent Inspected_Date, against that same entity's previous record's ReInspect_Date.

2) Then get the COUNT of the number of occurrences where the most recent Inspected_Date EXCEEDS the ReInspect_Date. I nwill eed to do that for each unique Facility entity that exists in the Query.

3 - 5) Then get the PERCENTAGE of Inspections that were peformed LATE by DIVIDING the COUNT of the number of occurrences where the most recent Inspected_Date EXCEEDED the ReInspect_Date by the total record COUNT from the original Query by, and then return the PERCENTAGE into an Access Report's text box.

NOTE: We use Access 2010 for the front end, and SQL Server for the Back end.

Attached is the complete visual example to demonstrate what I’m attempting to do.

This is what I've pondered doing so far, but I'm not sure how to execute:
A) Do a self join on the Query:

• Add a colum called IncrementID to the first self join Query (which is sorted in Facility Order ASC, and then Inspected_Date DESC), and populate the new column with an auto incremented value from 2 to the total record count.