Simple Store Keeping Inventory Database (1 Viewer)

techeart

Local time
Today, 14:34
I am trying to create a simple store keeping In and Out inventory database using Access, I thought I had made it but looks like I am missing something here, if anyone could help please.

The store works on SRV (Store Receiving Voucher) and SIV (Store Issue Voucher). Products will be added based on SRV and will be issued out based on SIV. So far I have created the tables as you can see in the figure. One thing I am not understanding is where to keep the record of the Current Quantity of each product, lets say an Item has been added or issue out, it should be added or deducted accordingly from that specific products overall quantity. Right now I have a sample field within products table as you can see with the name QtyOnHand but that doesn't seem to be logical. Thanks.

Attachments

• SRV-SIV.jpg
    SRV-SIV.jpg
    61.7 KB · Views: 585

mousemat

Completely Self Taught
Local time
Today, 11:34
Qty on hand should be a calculated field, based upon a query which will add up all of the SRV's and deduct all of the SIV's to give you the qty on hand figure

techeart

Local time
Thanks for the quick response. Correct me if I am wrong but that query would then needs to be run every time manually in order to fill the calculated field? Also if you can be a little more detailed on what exact calculation to perform on that field?

Qty on hand should be a calculated field, based upon a query which will add up all of the SRV's and deduct all of the SIV's to give you the qty on hand figure

mousemat

Completely Self Taught
Local time
As a very quick setup i have created a small database based on your dataset.

Very simply, create a query to give you a sum of products IN, another query for products OUT and a third to give you the qty on hand.

its not a pretty database, just something i managed to do in my lunch break, have a look at it though and see where it fits in with your structure.