T-SQL conversion (1 Viewer)

stanhook

Local time
Today, 12:12
Hi,

I am pretty new to T-SQL but I have this on an old ASP page:

Code:
sqlDataDict = "SELECT tblDataDict.TableName, tblDataDict.FieldName, tblDataDict.Description"
sqlDataDict = sqlDataDict & " FROM tblDataDict"

And then down the page there are a bunch of these, each one requesting different data:

Code:
rsDataDict.Filter = "[TableName] like 'tblPD' AND [FieldName] like 'Site'"
response.write(rsDataDict.Fields("Description").Value)

rsDataDict.Filter = "[TableName] like 'tblPD' AND [FieldName] like 'PD'"
response.write(rsDataDict.Fields("Description").Value)

Is there a MySQL equivalent or can someone tell me what is is saying? I think it is looking for a table named tblPD with a column call Site. But I am not totally sure because I cannot find a MySQL equivalent.

Thanks for the help!
Stan

GPGeorge

Grover Park George
Local time
Today, 09:12
I don't know what the MySQL equivalent of the SQL string would be, or if it would even be different.

The first two code lines are generating a SQL string, much like you would do in VBA:

"SELECT tblDataDict.TableName, tblDataDict.FieldName, tblDataDict.Description FROM tblDataDict"

And then that SQL String is assigned to the variable called sqlDataDict, again, much like you would do in VBA.

You've left out some lines of code; those would be where that SQL string is used to open a recordset call rsDataDict. The contents of that recordset will be all of the record from tblDataDict. Again, similar to creating a recordset in VBA.

You are right about the filters.

The last two sets of lines apply filters to the recordset (again, how that is opened is not part of the code pasted here).