the control or subform control is too large for this location (1 Viewer)

sailorguy

Registered User.
Local time
Yesterday, 18:48
Hello,

I have a form which has an unbound listbox with a number of columns and currently about 100 rows, but I'm entering data and came across this error "the control or subform control is too large for this location".

Is this a limitation of the listbox? How could I get around this? I'm still rather new to databases, so hopefully there is a simple workaround.

missinglinq

AWF VIP
Local time
Yesterday, 19:48
I'm confused by your post as to what the number of rows in your Listbox has to do with entering data. Unless this is something new introduced in 2007, you don't enter data directly into a Listbox but rather into it's source table/query.

But, at any rate, the answer is no, the limit on rows in a Listbox is 65,536, if I remember correctly.

The error refers to the physical size of a control, i.e. the space it takes up on a form. Here's an explanation of the error:

2100 - The control or subform control is too large for this location. The number you entered for the Left, Top, Height, or Width property is too large or is a negative number. Reduce the size of the control or subform control, or enter a positive number.

Are you using code to set the size of the Listbox? If not, perhaps the form has become corrupt. You could try a new form then import the components into it, or better yet, a new blank database and import everything into it. This will sometimes get rid of corruption.

sailorguy

Registered User.
Local time
Hi,

Thank you, I wasn't clear. The listbox is being populated by various combo boxes on the form. I am using the following code to increase the height of the listbox as more rows are entered. I take it that is the problem then? Will I have to remove this code to continue?

Code:
getListboxCount = Me.List30.ListCount
' Adjust Number Accordingly
setHeight = 217

Me.List30.Height = getListboxCount * setHeight