Question Tick boxes for brands / products ordered by each customer (1 Viewer)

ascaife

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 08:09
Hi all.

Please excuse my ignorance, I'm a bit new at this.

I'm setting up a fairly simple customer database for a fashion wholesaler. We have a set of customers who will be in tblClients, and a set of brands in tblBrands. I would like to have the ability in a form to view all the contact details for each record, as well as have two areas for tick boxes for current brands ordered by that customer, and potential brands for that customer.

I know I can just add each of the brands to tblClients and create a yes/no field, but that would create a maintenance nightmare when new brands are added to the portfolio.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Many thanks,

Andrew

Steve R.

Retired
Local time
Today, 18:09
You will need to review normilization. Essentially you will need a unique value for each customer and brand that would be used to build an order history table.

ascaife

Registered User.
Local time
Hi Steve,

Thanks for your reply, I appreciate it. I guess I didn't explain myself very well.

We're not looking to book orders into the system, we just want a list of brands to appear as tick boxes (currently 12 brands), and for each customer profile we would like to tick the brands that are normally ordered by that customer. The idea being that we can then print reports out for each brand listing all the customers for that brand.

Ideally the 12 brands would be listed in a continuous subform (I think) so that when a brand is added, we can immediately start ticking off customers without having to go in and edit the form.

Thanks,

Andrew

WayPay

Registered User.
Local time
Tomorrow, 00:09
Steve was still right about normalization :). You're turning an interface problem into a database problem, which (as you noted) would create a maintenance nightmare.

This would be the basic normalized table structure:
Table Customer: