Update 2007 to 2013? (1 Viewer)

AN60

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:24
Hi
It's been a while since I posted on this forum.

I've been using Access for many years and am presently using 2007, which works ok for my needs. :)

My question is regarding the idea of updating to 2013. Are there any known problems going from 2007 to 2013? FWIW I want to have 2013 on my computer, not the cloud. The last update I did, many years ago, I lost a few features which took me a while to fix up, or find.

Can 2007 and 2013 run on the same computer and same drive together?

Any other info on going to 2013 would he appreciated too.;)

Dave

HiTechCoach

Local time
Today, 06:24
Dave,
FWIW I want to have 2013 on my computer, not the cloud
Your is luck. There is not a Cloud version of Access yet. like there is for Word, Excel, and Powerpoint.

From Access on your desktop you can create and publish Web databases to Sharepoint. You still use Access on the desktop to create, edit, and publish them.

The last update I did, many years ago, I lost a few features which took me a while to fix up, or find.

Fortuneteller there is always going to be the potential issue of deprecated features whenever you upgrade. I have been dealing with it from Access from 2.0, 95,97,200.,2002,2003,2007,2010,2013 and some 1015.

Whenever there is a major change to the underlying database engine like from Jet3/4 to ACE is when yo see the most change.

Access 95/97 from JET 3.x to Access 2000 and Jet 4 wha a lot of changes

From Access 2000/2002/2003 JEt4 to Acces 2007 with the new ACE database engine there were lots of changes.

Access 2010 and 2013 use the same ACE database engine as 2007. Acess 2010 did add some feature that if used made format changes to the .accdb format that made it not compatible with 2007.

Access 2010 to 2013 was really a minor change to the Access Desktop version. Most of the changes have been focused on Web database.