Solved Update Date Field to Blank (2 Viewers)

NatDB

Local time
Today, 06:50
Hi Everyone,

I am new to using Access and need a bit of help with the below.

My DB has an end date for closed accounts. Some customers have returned and I want to remove the end date on their record. I have a added a new data source containing the customers details and all data matches. Happy with this.

I have said the following:

Field: Closed Date
Table: Customer Records
Criteria: Is Not Null And <>""
Update To: ""

Is the above going to cause any issues or is there something more accurate I can add to remove the date instead of the quotation marks?

Many thanks

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
You can't set a date field to an empty string (or zero length string ZLS as it is also known).
You can set it to null though.

If possible before you get too stuck into the design remove all the spaces and any special characters from your field names.
Typing ClosedDate is a lot easier than typing [Closed Date]

Last edited:

NatDB

Local time
Thank you @Minty I will amend the Field name and other field names in my DB.

I will give it a go and thank you for the information regarding ZLS.

The_Doc_Man

Immoderate Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 00:50
Regarding "end dates" - Rather than using nulls or a ZLS, I used essentially an impossible date as the marker.

When dealing with dates in Access, you can legally display any date from 1-Jan-100 to 31-Dec-9999. If I had some event that wasn't done yet, I always marked its closure as 31-Dec-9999, which is easy to test for. I also used 1-Jan-100 for anything in the past but for which the exact past date was totally unknown.