Value not showed in a form (1 Viewer)

spa856

New member
Local time
Today, 11:26
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Messages
26
Dear

my situation:
  1. Main form F_RICERCA
  2. Sub Form F_ELENCO
  3. Button Istanza on the right
1682591852396.png


If I click on the button it opens the correct form, linked to my client, it seems all is ok but I have an issue with this field:

1682592101670.png

I set as default value on the table T_ISTANZA the value "N" for ISTANZA_CREATA, but the form dosn't show it as N
If I put into one of the fields a value it shows the value N.
It is a problem for me because I create a VBA code for the current event where if the field is equal to N the label Gestione Istanza is Create Istanza, otherwise Gestione Istanza. After the click it change value to Y and it works.
Do you have any ideas?
thank you
 

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Today, 10:26
Joined
Sep 21, 2011
Messages
14,311
Default value is only for new records?
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,616
agree with Gasman - you need to update your existing records where the field is null (or a zls depending on your settings) to N or Y as required.

alternatively modify the code that does this

if the field is equal to N the label Gestione Istanza is Create Istanza

to

if the field is equal to N or null the label Gestione Istanza is Create Istanza

usual way to do this

if nz(myfield,"N")="N" then
 

spa856

New member
Local time
Today, 11:26
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Messages
26
In the table the value is N, only in the forms it blank.
If I put any values on the form, the field shows N (see screen): I put Modulo, and the field is equal to N and the label is Create Istanza.
I don't understand the reason.
1682597360762.png
 

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,616
better show your code since label captions don't change unless you use code
 

spa856

New member
Local time
Today, 11:26
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Messages
26
This is the code on current event of the subform.
This code works if I edit some information in the form, but when I open the form for the first time the field is empty till I edit some information.
Private Sub Form_Current()
Dim edit As String
Dim add As String

add = "Creare Istanza"
edit = "Gestione Istanza"
If Me.ISTANZA_CREATA = "N" Then
Me.Label15.Caption = add
Else
Me.Label15.Caption = edit
End If
End Sub
Here the code on click
Private Sub Label15_Click()
If Me.ISTANZA_CREATA = "N" Then
Me.ISTANZA_CREATA = "S"
End If
 
Last edited:

CJ_London

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 10:26
Joined
Feb 19, 2013
Messages
16,616
looks like you edited your current code from what I was posted - suggest try the suggestion I made

If nz(Me.ISTANZA_CREATA,"N") = "N" Then
 

spa856

New member
Local time
Today, 11:26
Joined
Apr 21, 2023
Messages
26
Nothing, it doesn't work.
I've created a new record.
Ok, I find the error: the field is related to the table T_ISTANZA.
T_ISTANZA is a T_PUNTO_VENDITA's table, so the field will be populated when I create the Istanza.
How can I manage this field in T_PUNTO_VENDITA?

1682605725053.png


1682605773420.png

Ho
 

Attachments

  • 1682605714052.png
    1682605714052.png
    289.6 KB · Views: 46
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom