Weekly Planner Template (1 Viewer)

MattBaldry

Self Taught, Learn from the Forums
Local time
Today, 12:41
Hi All,

I was wondering if anyone had a very basic planner form they have used. I have searched the forums and there are plenty out there, but not quite what I am after.

I am trying to display employee workloads and I have a table with a due date, and a query with labour hours. I want to be able take the due date, work backwards with the labour time to work out start, and then display this, if possible, as a continuous form layout with employee names as rows and work days as columns. This could then be filtered by month to show employee workload/capacity.

I am thinking continuous form view with each employee on a row and then the days of the month displayed to the right. Something like below.

Employee1st2nd3rd4th5th9th10th11th12th
Name 1Job 123 StartJob 123Job 123Job 123Job 123 End
Name 2Job 456 StartJob 456 EndJob 789 StartJob 789Job 789Job 789 End

I don't need any special features or to be able to edit the data here (it is pulled from an external table and edited in their software)

I am hoping someone has something they have used before.

~Matt

Pat Hartman

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 07:41
If your data is properly normalized, a crosstab query will pivot it to display it this way. Use a Where clause to limit the data range. Define the form with 31 day columns and force the crosstab to always return 31 columns even if the data doesn't contain 31. One way to do this is to use the columns property of the query.

MattBaldry

Local time
If your data is properly normalized, a crosstab query will pivot it to display it this way. Use a Where clause to limit the data range. Define the form with 31 day columns and force the crosstab to always return 31 columns even if the data doesn't contain 31. One way to do this is to use the columns property of the query.
Thanks Pat,

I shall have a look into this. I hadn't even thought about cross tab.