Why are my update and append queries incrementing CustomerID Auto_Number field??? (1 Viewer)

Lateral

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 09:24
Hi guys I'm a newbie so please be patient with me. I have a table called "Customer" that contains customer records (name, address etc). There is a field called "CustomerID" that is configured as "Auto Number" When I add a new record after running a number of Update/Append queries that may only append a few records etc, that the new "CustomerID" number of huge. For example, if right now the CustomerID is 1000, and I manually add a new record, the CustomerID will be 1001...this is correct. If I run the series of queries and then manually add a new record, the CustomerID may be 20010. Is there something that I'm doing wrong??? Thanks for any help.

I've just done some more testing to try to figure out which query is the problem and I think that I have isolated it to the following query:

INSERT INTO Customers ( ContactFirstName, ContactLastName, EmailAddress, BillingAddress, PostalCode, City, StateOrProvince, PhoneNumber, MobNumber, Web_Customer_Number )
SELECT Web_Orders.[First Name], Web_Orders.[Last Name], Web_Orders.Email, Web_Orders.[Delivery Address1], Web_Orders.[Delivery Postcode], Web_Orders.[Delivery City], Web_Orders.[Delivery State], Web_Orders.[Delivery Phone], Web_Orders.[Delivery PhoneMobile], Web_Orders.[Customer No]
FROM Web_Orders;

The Web_Orders table contains 897 records which is the same number that is being incremented.....

Regards Greg

Last edited:

JHB

Have been here a while
Local time
Today, 18:24
Do not use auto-numbering to something that has meaning for you, for this you've to create your own function.

Lateral

Registered User.
Local time
Hi JHB

Can you please explain what you mean?

Minty

AWF VIP
Local time
Today, 17:24
You are inserting a record for every Web Order;
Code: