Gun laws do they work (1 Viewer)

Dick7Access

Dick S
Local time
Today, 02:55
While I am also no expert on constitutional law, I do know that it does not provide a remedy for any scenario that could be dreamt up.
Impeachment is provided for, yet it would hardly be a remedy in the case in question, where the military opens fire on citizens.
Impeachment is a long, drawn out process and even impeachment does not necessarily remove a president from office. This would be as effective a remedy as petitioning the government to improve fire safety in the case of a fire.
By the way, this has actually happened - the firing on citizens, that is - in 1969 at Kent State University. This wasn't the president's order, and it wasn't the regular military, it was the National Guard. The president (Nixon) was almost impeached, but not about Kent State, it was about Watergate. It may have happened elsewhere too during rioting or mob violence.

Rain lover, I'm sorry to state that your question is unanswerable. The constitution does not cover all the hypothetical scenarios that anybody can dream up. It does not say:
If the president orders the military to shoot on civilians he must be immediately removed from office. How could it, without any awareness of the circumstances for this action which would be impossible to foretell?

Tell the people at the Waco shooting about the safety net!!

Adam Caramon

Local time
It does not say:
If the president orders the military to shoot on civilians he must be immediately removed from office. How could it, without any awareness of the circumstances for this action which would be impossible to foretell?

Right, but the point is that if, in the incredibly unlikely situation that the president ordered the military to turn their weapons on civilians, there are processes in place to be able to remove the president from office.