Adding records into multiple tables at a single moment (1 Viewer)

bpen91

New member
Local time
Today, 23:59
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
3
Hello guys! I'm an ms access newbie here and have a question to ask..

Scenario:

Supposing you have 4 Tables
1.)User
2.)Admin
3.)Teacher
4.)Pupil

Now the "User" table has the ff. fields: ID(auto num),FName,MName,LName,User,Pass,Type.

Now what I want to do is, if I add a new a record in the table "User" and if the record has the data "Admin" in the field "Type" then the record should also be saved in the table "Admin" but if the data is "Teacher" or "Pupil" then it should be also saved in their respective tables.

Question is: Is that possible? If yes, then how??

Sorry guys for the trouble and thanks for the help!
 

jdraw

Super Moderator
Staff member
Local time
Today, 11:59
Joined
Jan 23, 2006
Messages
15,394
You add(APPEND new record) a record to 1 table at a time. You Update(UPDATE existing record) 1 table at a time.
 

bpen91

New member
Local time
Today, 23:59
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
3
I'm sorry I don't understand what you mean. :( Is it in the query design?? Please explain more..
 

smig

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 18:59
Joined
Nov 25, 2009
Messages
2,209
any reason to save the same data in multiple tables ?
This is against all normalizations logical
 

bpen91

New member
Local time
Today, 23:59
Joined
Dec 3, 2011
Messages
3
Here's the complete design:
"User" table has ID(auto num),FName,MName,LName,User,Pass,Type.

"Admin and Teacher" table has ID,FName,MName,LName,Gender

"Pupil" table has ID,FName,MName,LName,Gender,Batch,Section.

Now this "Pupil" table will be used for the "Results" table too.

Our teacher told us not to put "Username" and "Password" fields for each table so that's why I decided to use another table "User" for the username and pass.

I don't know how will I do it with the Relationship since the "Type" should be determined first before adding the record into the other table.
 

wiklendt

i recommend chocolate
Local time
Tomorrow, 01:59
Joined
Mar 10, 2008
Messages
1,746
if you want to see which users are either admin or teachers, just run a query with the info you want to see - there's no need to save the same data in multiple locations, as smig said, to do that goes against good database design.
 

DevastatioN

Registered User.
Local time
Today, 12:59
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
242
As stated above you should only have one table tblUsers.

In this table include FName, MName, LName, Gender, Type, Username, Password.

Type field should be used with a dropdown as Admin, Teacher, Pupil.

You no longer need tblTeachers, tblAdmins, and tblPupils. Anytime you only need one or the other, you just run a query to find them (if it's a dropdown looking for pupils, the dropdown will filter for only pupils in tblUsers).

I'm not sure what Batch and Section are, you can add them to the table if they belong there, or make another table with this info depending on the relationships.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top Bottom