create table rows using combobox (1 Viewer)

SteveAccess93

Local time
Today, 18:29
Good afternoon all,

I have an access tracking software which we use at work for a windows manufacturer.

We have a form, and within the form we have a combo box 'Combo128' which allows us to select the product type 'Window', 'Door', 'Commercial Door' and 'Curtain Wall.

We also have a sub-form called 'Ordering' which uses a table 'PurchOrders' which we update with all the purchase orders for that particular product 'Ali', 'Hardware' etc.

Please could someone tell me whether it would be possible if we could automatically populate the table, depending on the product type?

Im a novice with Access but the best way to explain it would be... If Combobox = "Window" then add 5 Rows. Supplier ID 'To Buy', Description 'Ali, 'Hardware', Sealed Units' 'Panels' ' Teleflex'.

Apologies for the lack of information.

1666867454328.png

SteveAccess93

Local time
Yes, this is possible.
Thanks Mark!

Would you mind guiding me in the right direction or explain how this can be done please? ☺️

Much appreciated!!!

Gasman

Enthusiastic Amateur
Local time
Combo128? :(
Why not give it a more meaningful name, perhaps cboProduct?

Anyway I might approach it by storing the required data in a table, then append that data to your table. So if a window has five rows, then those five rows are added to your table with what data you have, leaving the user to complete the rest. That way if it changes to 4 or 6, easy to amend via data. Would need an 'active' field to do that.

SteveAccess93

Local time
Combo128? :(
Why not give it a more meaningful name, perhaps cboProduct?

Anyway I might approach it by storing the required data in a table, then append that data to your table. So if a window has five rows, then those five rows are added to your table with what data you have, leaving the user to complete the rest. That way if it changes to 4 or 6, easy to amend via data. Would need an 'active' field to do that.